Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Like My Fave Kind of Peanut Butter....

I've heard them called "crunchy." It kind of weirds me out, I'm not gonna lie. Crunchy is a texture, usually something you might eat. Like peanut butter! You don't eat moms so why do moms have to be broken down into two groups, one being called "crunchy?" Does anyone else find the term slightly odd? I'm trying to make the correlation here. A "crunchy" mom tends to do co-sleeping, breastfeeding, organic everything, homemade baby food, clothe diapers, touch-soothing (as opposed to self-soothe). Are they crunchy because the stereotype of this person might be a hippie and the stereotypical hippie wears dreads and, therefore, doesn't wash her hair and is "all natural" so isn't really about hair removal (think armpits)? Is crunchy an adjective for the noise emanating from the stereotypical-hippie-mom's voluminous underarm hair as she lifts her infant from the sling she constantly wears around her body to keep baby close to her? At first, I just found the term to be a little funny. Now, I can't help but picture a lumpy woman, much resembling the peanut butter I prefer to use on my sandwiches.
I'd elaborate more but I'm sure you've gotten the picture of what goes through my brain each time I read or hear about a "crunchy" mom so I'll just go back to being pregnant and barefoot in my kitchen, making rice pudding, banana cake and brownies. Or maybe cookies.

No comments:

Post a Comment