If you ask me what's changed the most since I got pregnant, I'll tell you I lost most compassion and sympathy. At least I can be honest. That being said, you've now been warned that if you come to me with a stupid problem or selfish complaint, I'll probably tell you it's stupid or selfish. I don't intend to be rude but you have to understand, this child in my belly is eating everything, to include the genetic code that determines one's mothering instinct. I eat like a hog but I can still wear a lot of my pre-pregnancy clothing. The only ones that don't fit are shirts that are now too short. That alone is evidence of my child's appetite so I'm positive she ate my sympathy gene.
According to my Dad, I'm just like him and have a tendency to view most situations without any emotional blinders. According to my Mom, I'm just like my Dad and don't try hard enough to see the emotional side of any given situation. According to my mouth, lately, not only do I lack the emotional blinders but I also lack the filter that reminds me to be tactful. If you're looking for a crying shoulder, mine isn't it. If you're looking for honesty, I'm your gal. I do make an attempt to sugar coat my words but have been finding more and more lately (usually post-conversation) that the sugar might have gone stale.
Honestly, I think I've hit that point in life where I feel like I'm too old for the bologna. The bad part is that I think I feel other people around my age and older should also feel too old for the bologna. I know I'm no where near GeezerTown yet but I think I might end up a resident well before my AARP application arrives in the mail. I'm ready to move forward and do big things. I know 25 is still young but, at the same time, it's not. I feel the push to focus on the adult I want to be, as opposed to the young adult I've been. Hearing about all of the bologna just irritates me more because it reminds me that I, too, am doing nothing with my life (at this time). I need to remind myself, instead, that I'm Rosie the Riveter, building a human in my torso.
I hate being unemployed. It just gives me too much time to feel lazy. Maybe it's time to start the online-job hunt, at least until baby arrives, settles in and I restart college. I'm too old (and too pregnant) to party like I'm 21 again and too driven to do nothing.
No comments:
Post a Comment