After the last few days, I've decided I'm a bit more "crunchy" than I would have believed I'd be before K was born. Not only do I cloth diaper, I had a conversation about "stripping" cloth diapers. I made food for K for the first time today and, no, I don't mean boob-juice. I cooked up the sweet potatoes, pureed them and fed them to her for dinner (she was not a fan). I wore her around the house for no reason other than to comfort her. She has a bad cold and is a little more sensitive than usual. The hubs was vacuuming and it scared her so I took off her dress, put on my Moby Wrap, pulled up my shirt to expose my jiggly belly and tucked her in to the wrap (skin on skin contact for additional comfort. It still calms her better than anything else). Then we followed Daddy around while he vacuumed so we could comfortably calm her fears of that noisy contraption. By the end, she was even touching the vacuum while it was turned on! The last, those who have heard me talk about this thing will know what a big deal this is, really grosses me out to think about. I NoseFrida'd her face. I used the snot sucker. It was a moment of complete desperation. She couldn't eat without pausing to gasp for air every few seconds and those little bulb aspirators were not doing the trick so I had Luke bust out the NoseFrida. In retrospect, I'm so glad no one else was able to take it. As long as I close my eyes and make Luke do everything but the sucking, we're okay. I almost lost my breakfast all over K's face this morning when he didn't take it away fast enough and I saw the glob of snot sitting in the sucker. It was reassuring to know the snot doesn't go anywhere near the filter but not reassuring enough to keep my gag reflex from kicking into high gear. It really does work better than any other aspirator but it takes a lot to get passed the fact that I'm literally sucking snot from her nose. We've used it a few times today. It got out the mucous that the bulb aspirator left behind. That was the snot that was keeping her from breathing while eating. I'll still be discussing this creepy contraption with her doctor tomorrow, though. Paranoia needs me to check to be sure the stronger vacuum of my sucking won't hurt her in anyway. She'll need to be seen anyway since the snot is very not clear. This cold is proof that it does not matter how often you wash your hands or how often you use sanitizer or how often you bathe your child or whether or not you let random people touch her. As long as other moms will send a child to your house/playdate without first informing you that the child has been sick, is sick or is coming down with some illness, your child is pretty likely to get sick. Unless, of course, you hermit your child away from other children which isn't a really fun life to live. Moms - common courtesy, if you're child is sick, keep him/her home.
Anyway, I supposed I filled my quota of recipes but I'm having fun with this so I shall share a recipe review regardless.
I made this today for dessert:
http://elizabethsedibleexperience.blogspot.com/2009/03/cake-cravings.html
Amazing doesn't begin to describe this pound cake. It's phenomenal. Fantastic. Scrumptious. Divine. Go make it. Now.
Okay, so maybe you're looking for a better description. I thought I died and went to heaven when I licked the batter off my fingers between filling the cake pan (I used a smaller pan) and filling some muffin tins. I could have eaten the entire bowl before baking it. I'm so, so glad temptation didn't get the better of me. I expected something extremely dense but, despite the richness, it wasn't. And the outside... Oh my gosh, what can I say about those crispy edges of baked sugary goodness? Only that you need to try it yourself. I froze all but one of the cupcakes already so I wouldn't eat them all in one day. I figure that's okay since I have the whole cake left.
Topped, of course, with some strawberries and
homemade whipped cream.
(No, I did not milk the cow. Not THAT
homemade).
This leads me into another fun experience today. I will never, ever again eat strawberries without cutting them up first. As I was cutting the yummy fellows for my dessert, I came across a worm inside a berry. It wiggled at me. I almost dumped the entire carton. Oh but the cake! I'm so glad I didn't dump those strawberries. The cake could easily stand alone as dessert but with the strawberries and whipped cream... Like I said, you need to try it yourself.
DEB!! YOU DIDN'T!!! Oh my gosh, I almost lost everything I've eaten today by reading this. Oh my gosh. The mental image!!! LOL!!!
ReplyDelete